Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
James Galt Diary, 1835-1844
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D10
Scope and Contents
Diary of James Galt, of "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginia which concerns farm management on several plantations, activities of himself and his family and includes lists of clothing given out to slaves (slaves listed by family group) and includes an incident concerning the alleged poisoning of slaves (entry for 18 January 1839.)
Dates:
1835-1844
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Plantation and Farm Instruction, Regulation, Record, Inventory and Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af27
Scope and Contents
Journal of work done on an unknown plantation, perhaps in Brunswick or Greensville County, Virginia, between January 3-June 16, 1853 and June 15-July 1, 1857. Notes on weather are given. The book includes an inventory of slaves in 1864 with their ages and in some cases their birth days recorded. There are inventories of livestock and implements, undated, but probably for 1853. There is a record of slave marriages for 1857 and births and deaths for 1857-1861, and a record of...
Dates:
1853-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Samuel F. Bright Account Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap4-MsV Ap5
Scope and Contents
Contain oystering accounts; farm accounts for "Porto Bella," York County, Virginia and "New Hope," [?]; cash accounts of Williamsburg, Virginia; list of ages and prices of slaves; records of physician's visits to family and slaves; remedy for colic; and memorandum of a purchase of land from College of William and Mary in October 1847.
Dates:
1826-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center